Aarhus

The place Aarhus at the mouth of the Au, where the name of the city comes from, has been inhabited since the time of the Vikings. The latest excavations have shown that the city was founded more than 1,200 years ago in 770. This found that Aarhus is 100 years older than assumed, making it one of the oldest cities in all of Northern Europe. Aarhus was in 16. as well as in 17th century an important maritime trading town. Around 1850 Aarhus became the largest and most populous city in Jutland. In 1928 the 2nd Danish University of Aarhus was founded here.

For holidaymakers and visitors to the city, the open-air museum “Den Gamle By” (dt. The old city), the Marienkirche with the crypt, the cathedral of Aarhus, the town hall from 1941 with a 60 meter high bell tower and the botanical one are particularly worth seeing City garden.

If you pay a visit to Aarhus, you can see that the city has grown relatively quickly. As a result, pretty half-timbered buildings and older buildings are rarely seen in the cityscape. During a short trip or weekend break in Aarhus, you should definitely visit the university park with its two lakes. Many locals meet here in summer.

On a city trip to Aarhus, for example, you could do that too Marselisborg Castle can be viewed from the outside in the southwest of the city. This is the residence of the royal family in the summer. When the Queen stays here, the changing of the guard, which is very popular with tourists, takes place every day at 12 noon. The palace park can be visited free of charge by all visitors and tourists when the royal family is not in the house.

See also  What do you do in the holiday home when it rains?

From an economic point of view, Aarhus is the commercial center of Jutland. The machine and textile industries in particular are the city’s most important economic sectors. Mainly agricultural products are shipped through the port of Aarhus, while coal and iron are imported. Aarhus is also the seat of the 2nd largest brewery in the country “Ceres”.

Since December 2007, Aarhus has been directly connected to the German ICE network with the connection between Berlin and Hamburg. So nothing should stand in the way of your short trip to the city of Aarhus.

Leave a Comment

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Aarhus

Der Ort Aarhus an der Mündung der Au, woher der Name der Stadt stammt, ist seit der Zeit der Wikinger besiedelt. Neueste Ausgrabungen ergaben, dass die Stadt bereits vor über 1.200 Jahren im Jahre 770 gegründet wurde. Dadurch wurde herausgefunden, dass Aarhus 100 Jahre älter als angenommen ist und damit eine der ältesten Städte in ganz Nordeuropa. Aarhus war im 16. sowie im 17. Jahrhundert eine bedeutende Seehandelsstadt. Um 1850 wurde Aarhus zur größten und bevölkerungsreichsten Stadt in Jütland. 1928 wurde die 2. dänische Universität von Aarhus hier gegründet.

Für Urlauber und Besucher der Stadt sind besonders sehenswert das Freilichtmuseum „Den Gamle By“ (dt. die alte Stadt), die Marienkirche mit der Krypta, der Dom von Aarhus, das Rathaus aus dem Jahre 1941 mit einem 60 Meter hohen Glockenturm und der Botanische Garten der Stadt.

Wenn Sie Aarhus einen Besuch abstatten erkennt man, dass die Stadt relativ schnell gewachsen ist. Dadurch sind hübsche Fachwerkbauten und ältere Gebäude im Stadtbild eher selten zu sehen. Während einem Kurztrip oder Wochenendurlaub in Aarhus sollte man auf jeden Fall in den Universitätspark mit seinen zwei Seen. Hier treffen sich im Sommer viele Einheimische.

Bei einem Städtetrip nach Aarhus könnte man beispielweise auch das Schloss Marselisborg im Südwesten der Stadt von außen besichtigen. Dies ist im Sommer der Aufenthaltsort der Königsfamilie. Wenn die Königin hier verweilt, findet täglich um 12 Uhr die bei Touristen sehr beliebte Wachablösung statt. Der Schlosspark kann von allen Besuchern und Touristen umsonstbesichtigt werden, wenn die Königsfamilie gerade nicht im Haus ist.

Wirtschaftlich gesehen ist Aarhus das Handelszentrum von Jütland. Besonders die Maschinenindustrie und Textilindustrie sind die wichtigsten Wirtschaftszweige der Stadt. Über den Hafen von Aarhus werden hauptsächlich landwirtschaftliche Produkte verschifft, während Kohle und Eisen importiert werden. Aarhus ist zudem auch der Sitz der 2. größten Brauerei des Landes „Ceres“.

Seit Dezember 2007 ist Aarhus mit der Verbindung Berlin und Hamburg direkt an das deutsche ICE- Netz angeschlossen. Also sollte Ihrem Kurztrip in die Stadt Aarhus nichts mehr im Wege stehen.

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *